Happy Ending

Home for the next month

If you can believe it, I’ve officially been living in this beautiful country for 11 months now, which means my year abroad is quickly coming to an end.

It feels like yesterday that I was packing up my Uptown Charlotte apartment and saying goodbye to my friends and family. Thinking back to January 2012, as I anxiously awaited this incredible journey, I remember being just completely overwhelmed with anticipation, excitement and apprehension about the unknown.

Now, almost a year later, I find myself starting to feel the same anxious feelings towards my return. I’m very excited to reunite with everyone back home, but I’m equally sad to say goodbye to Australia. Sure it’s been tough at times, but overall, this has been one of the best and most memorable things I’ve ever done.

After a year of expecting the unexpected, I’ve become accustomed to constant change, and the thought of returning to a normal, stable lifestyle actually feels foreign. I also still have no clue what my plan is upon returning to the U.S., which is both exciting and scary. I basically could start fresh anywhere, but I must admit, I’m partial to moving to NYC, LA or back to Charlotte. Instead of letting my indecisiveness take over, I’m trying to focus on the present and enjoy my last weeks here – I’ll have a long return flight to sort my future out.

Clearly, I’m not ready for this adventure to end. And it won’t quite yet, as I’ll be getting a taste of SE Asia with my two American roommates in a month’s time. We’re in the process of planning a trip to Bali and the Gili Islands in Indonesia, and various islands and cities in Thailand. Knowing this pit stop in paradise awaits takes the sting out of my Oz visa expiration date.

Time to make the most of these last 31 days on Australian soil!

Posted on January 22, 2013, in Australia, Sydney, Travel, Work and Holiday Visa and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Bravo and well done

  2. When you feel sad to leave Australia, just remember how much America loves and needs your happy warmth!

Leave a comment